Pop-up Books – Without You b/w You Are The Summer (2mf032)

Fresh to too many fireworks is Neil Milton’s new band, Pop-up Books. The band release their debut ‘double-A’ single, Without You b/w You Are The Summer on limited edition cassette and digital download. Both tracks were recorded and produced by Neil, and mixed by Marcin Bu┼║niak at Axis Audio.

Inspired by celebrations of past break-ups, “Without You” is a thumping, vintage wall of sound. Layers of guitars, keyboards, and strings set the stage for the warm, reverb-soaked vocals of Jules Jones, sounding every bit the Spector-esque pop star. Conversely, “You Are The Summer” is a citrus-slice of power-pop; a fuzzy, melodic ode to falling in love in the summertime.